Okay, this post has nothing to do with the fact that we stalk people, or anything relating to that matter. This post is strictly my opinion that I just have to tell SOMEONE about, and this seemed like a great place to do it.
You see, Saturday night I had the wonderful privelege of watching the Miss America Pagent. I have looked forward to this event just about every year since I can remember. Miss America to me was like watching life size barbies appear on the screen. These girls were gorgeous, talented, smart, and altogether amazing; at least they were in the eyes of a four year old. I skipped a couple years of watching the glorious pagent, and then it happened that I would only watch it if it happened to be on and I happened to flip to the right channel. An avent such as this occured on Friday night.
I turned on the T.V. and realized that the Miss America Pagent was on. With eagerness, I jumped onto the couch, pulled a blanket over me and settled in. It was that night that I realized just how stupid and disgusting this world has become. I started watching just in time for the swimsuit competition and started to get nervous when the MC said "Coming up we have the swim suit competition! Who doesn't love that? I mean, in all reality, we're about to see a bunch of half naked ladies walk around the stage!" Wow Mr. Announcer, thank you for basically calling women animals and saying that all we are good for is our bodies. You suck. May I remind you that about 10 years ago everyone was all crazed about how they wanted to get rid of the swimsuit competition, but they decided to keep it because the whole reason it was started was to promote fitness in young women!?!? Tell me how telling us that we are going to see a bunch of half naked ladies prance around the stage is going to promote fitness!!!! Which brings me to my next point; not one contestant this year was wearing a one piece, or even semi-modest swimsuit. Usually you can count on at least one or two from like Utah or Oregon, but this year, there was not one. NOT ONE! And every single girl was wearing high heals. Go look up picutres of the swimsuit competiton 50 years ago; you may be surprised to find that basically every girl was barefoot and wearing a one piece swimsuit. THAT is promoting fitness. Let's try not to teach our children that the only way to look good is to wear a bikini and prance around a stage in high heels.
Next was the evening wear. Let's just say all of the gowns were ugly. There really was not one dress that I liked. Oh wait, that's a lie, there was one, but I'm not sure if I really did like her dress, or if I just liked it because the comment she gave while walking in it was about how she wanted her dress to be something that would be a good example for her kids.
Then we went on to the talent portion. This is where I REALLY started to get frustrated. Well let's face it, every single girl thinks that the only talent options there are in the world are to sing, dance, or play the piano. And that is what I saw. Over, and over, and over, and over, and over. Where is the variety people?!?! But the big thing that drove me nuts was the singing. Usually the talents in pagents aren't really talents because it's more of a side thing that you only do because every competition has a talent portion. And usually if you sing, it means you REALLY don't have a talent. Thankfully, the girls usually go see a nice voice teacher and manage to squeak out a nice little ballad of some sort. Usually the songs are very nice and are classic and timeless pieces. Well apparently this year, everyone decided that it would be best if they sang a pop song, or some other wierd song choice that did not showcase their voice well and showed that they really didn't have talent because they were cheat singing. I mean, come on people!!!
Then came the questions. Don't even get me started. Let's just say, if they give you a question, ANSWER IT!! Don't tell me about something else, answer the freaking question! Wow. I personally feel that this portion of the competition should be the biggest. Who really cares about beauty?
I don't think I even remember who won. I think it was Miss Nebraska. Congratulations. But honestly, I really don't think I want my children looking up to you as a role model. Even if you can wear a bikini, a dress, and sort of sing. I'm pretty sure that I'm going to run Miss America someday and I will put those girls through things they have never been through. I think I would make it so there is no way you can win based on beauty. It's all about fitness, and knowledge, and talent. Yes, I like this competiton already. :)
--Annabelle
No comments:
Post a Comment